15th Annual Crystal Apple Awards

Recognizing Area Educators for Innovations in the Classroom

The 2017 Crystal Apple Program kicked off in February, when area business leaders visited classrooms, invited students to fill out nominations, and distributed gifts of appreciation to every teacher in the participating school districts.

Partners in Educational Excellence and Workforce Development received 1,221 nominations this year for 325 different teachers. From these names, a ballot was created for teachers to vote on their top selections – a minimum of one teacher was selected to represent each school.

In March, the following Teachers of Distinction were announced:
Emily Batterman – Pittsville Elementary
Jessie Bauer – St. John’s Primary
Kathy Beilke – Lincoln Elementary
Mackenzie Bennin – Granton School District
Amy Clifford – St. Joseph School–Stratford
April Daul – Washington Elementary
Stacey DeJarlais – Madison Elementary
Lara Endries – Grant Elementary
Sarah Freedlund – Pittsville High School
Donna Hayes – Our Lady of Peace
Jackson Hein – Marshfield High School
Jill Helgerson – Immanuel Lutheran School
Brad Helsten – Greenwood Middle/High School
Patti Jennings – Spencer Elementary
Valerie Krall – Nasonville Elementary
Dean McFarlane – Marshfield High School
Abbi Roehrborn – Spencer High School
Terri Schmidt – Marshfield Middle School
Tracey Thompson – Columbus Catholic High School
Chad Vanderwyst – Auburndale Middle/High
Mike Wisniewski – Trinity Lutheran School

As the selection process moved forward, recommendations from school principals were provided and the Teachers of Distinction submitted a personal statement describing their educational philosophy. The written materials identified ways these teachers inspire and motivate students, their use of innovative projects or programs, as well as their involvement in the community and their pursuit of professional development.

The final step occurred the end of April when the Teachers of Distinction met with a selection panel comprised of a group of leaders from area businesses who place a high value on an educated workforce. The final selection was based on expertise (professionalism, knowledge of subject matter); innovation (advanced classroom techniques, teaching methods); and leadership (student guidance and rapport, reputation among colleagues, community involvement).

MACCI is pleased to announce the 2017 Crystal Apple Award recipients:

Debbie Heidmann – Auburndale Elementary School
Jessica LeMoine – Marshfield High School
Scott Moseley – Greenwood Elementary School
Amber Schultz – Grant Elementary School

All Teachers of Distinction will be honored at the Crystal Apple Awards banquet to be held October 4, 2017, at the Hotel Marshfield in Marshfield.